My whole self

I am not me, not yet
Horribly limited, I have reveled
Been a small handful, so easy to hold
Why, then, must I find myself?
Look for my whole?

Known in parts but loved entire
Asked for all but accepted pieces
I am not me, not yet
Only the night sky, a half wave
Stitched patches, continuous

But when I am whole
I will destroy
Have a whole meal
a night full of sleep
Put love on wounds
and make beautiful art
And they will destroy
For they will be both
semi truths and small lies

My flaws will stay with me
as misinterpretations of my good intentions
And I will be whole
seemingly simple but a storm within

 

 

[artwork: Sophia Noël]

Leave a Reply

